University of Rochester


The University of Rochester is one of the country's top-tier research universities. Our 158 buildings house more than 200 academic majors, more than 2,000 faculty and instructional staff, and some 10,500 students—approximately half of whom are women.

Learning at the University of Rochester is also on a very personal scale. Rochester remains one of the smallest and most collegiate among top research universities, with smaller classes, a low 10:1 student to teacher ratio, and increased interactions with faculty.

The Rochester Curriculum

People do their best when doing what they love. At Rochester, you build your own curriculum with your own unique strengths and interests.

There are no required subjects.

You study only what you're passionate about, choosing a major in one of the three divisions of learning and taking thematic three-course clusters in the other two areas. Without the need to take what other schools sometimes call "general education requirements," most Rochester students find they have room to double and even triple-major.

How does it work?

All students must complete:

• one primary writing requirement;

• the requirements for their major, which falls in one of the three great areas of learning:

• humanities

• social sciences

• natural sciences and engineering

• one cluster in each of the remaining two areas.

What's a cluster?

A cluster is a set of related courses that fall within one of the three academic divisions. Each cluster contains a minimum of 12 credits of coursework. Many clusters were created by students. They're just one more way you can customize your college education.


New York

University of Rochester
River Campus
500 Joseph C. Wilson Blvd.

14627 New York, New York, USA