University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli"




The University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli" was established in 1991 (Decree MURST, 25 March) with the aim of relieving the overcrowded conditions of the major Neapolitan university known as the “Federico II”. On the official date of November 1st, 1991, the University of Campania began to function autonomously with nineteen thousand enrollments and eight faculties located in five different territorial areas of Caserta and Naples. Currently, there are thirty thousand students attending the University’s 19 Departments. The University’s multi-campus structure has two offices for its Rector: one in Naples and one in the Royal Palace of Caserta. 3

University Locations

Famous historic buildings are home to the University’s Schools, Departments, Centers and Administrative offices. Many of these same buildings are also archaeological sites, such as the Department of Humanities and Cultural Heritage in Santa Maria Capua Vetere which stands on what once was a Roman Cryptoporticus and the Schools of Medicine which are located in the old City Center of Naples. Architecture and Industrial Design “Luigi Vanvitelli” Aversa – San Lorenzo ad Septimum building and cloister. Medicine and Surgery The School of Medicine offers the single cycle medical degrees in two of its teaching hospitals: the Naples campus is located in the University Teaching Hospital known as the “Vecchio Policlinico”; the Caserta campus is located in the “San Benedetto area”. All clinical teaching activities are also held at the “Vecchio Policlinico” in Naples and at the Caserta Civil Hospital of Caserta. The Degree course in Orthodontics is held at the Naples Campus. The Neapolitan teaching hospital occupies two major locations: the complex of Sant’Andrea delle Dame and the “Santa Patrizia Cloisters”.



University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli"

Viale Abramo Lincoln,5
81100 Caserta, Campania, Italy
+39 0823 274803

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you